Final Coil











Final Coil

His arrival was a significant catalyst and new songs were written at a furious pace, the band recording and self-releasing the well-received Closed to the Light EP in 2015. This EP not only gained excellent reviews across the board, it also attracted the attention of respected label WormHoleDeath and, throughout 2016, the band focused on writing and developing their debut album, Persistence of Memory. A darkly compelling tour-de-force that combines crushing riffs with the sweeping, epic grandeur of progressive rock (not least on the album’s brooding centrepiece failed light); Persistence of Memory is an eclectic-yet-coherent album that paints a compelling portrait of modern-day dissociation, loss and regret over the course of its eleven tracks. A genuine album in an era of soundbites, Persistence of memory is a record to savour, offering up visceral rock thrills with tracks like Corruption and Myopic and capturing the attention with slow-building numbers such as Spider Feet and Alienation. Recorded by Wahoomi Corvi (Way of purity, CreTura) at Real Sound Studio in Italy, mastered by Cult of Luna’s Magnus Lindberg and with stunning artwork courtesy of Andy Pilkington (Flotsam and Jetsam, Beholder), Persistence of Memory is a rare example of music and art coming together in perfect symbiosis and it looks set to bring Final Coil’s uniquely compelling music to a whole new audience. A band for whom passion is everything, Final Coil offer an emotional voyage into a heart of darkness and Persistence of Memory looks set to be one of the year’s most adventurous releases.

Members: Phil Stiles – Lead Vocals / Rhythm Guitars, Richard Awdry – Lead Guitars / Backing Vocals, Jola Stiles – Bass / Design, Tony ‘Ches’ Hughes – Drums